Justin Giunto

Name: Justin Giunto
Height: 5’ 11.5”
Weight: 230 – 235 lbs
From: Pittsburgh, PA

What got you started with fitness?
It had absolutely nothing to do with sports. I bowled, golfed, built Legos and played chess in high school. I owe my addiction to fitness to my buddies in college and my family. I started weight training in 2008, and seriously in 2010. I was pushed and shoved into the iron game even farther when I began to work in Pittsburgh as a Mechanical Engineer by my co-workers and its been amazing ever since.

Greatest achievements to this point?

  • Graduating from the University of Pittsburgh with a BS in Mechanical Engineering and a minor in Nuclear Engineering
  • Commissioning as an Officer in the U.S. Army
  • Getting married
  • Co-founding a bad ass apparel company

What keeps you motivated in fitness and in life?
Family, friends and the iron. I owe my recent strides in the sport of bodybuilding to my wife, Nichole. She has helped me so much during my first competition prep – every pissy moment I’ve had every second I wanted to quit – she has helped me tremendously then and in life as a whole. In addition to her, my good ‘ol hunger to be bigger and better than I was yesterday keeps my ass in line and drives me to the gym and to achieve my goals in life. The iron will never turn its back on you, never judge you – it’s always there to help you bring to life the self image that you are forging. The iron is the only thing constant in the continuously changing game of life. A solid foundation in life and in the gym is beyond important.

What’s your workout regimen?
My mood changes all the time, but right now it is:

Legs
Back
Chest
Shoulders
Arms

I throw an off day in between back and chest. I have always trained shoulders right after chest – gives them a nice long time to both recover.

Personal Records:

Deadlift: 615lbs x 1 (gym)
Bench: 385lbs (gym)
Squat: 525lbs x 1 (gym)
2013 NPC Eastern National Championship Men’s Novice Light Heavyweight: 2nd Place
2013 NPC Eastern National Championship Men’s Open: 4th Place

What’s your typical day?

6:20am – Wake up, cook breakfast, head to work.
7:30am (ish) to 4pm (ish) – Work.
4:30 to 6:30 – Train
7:00pm to 10pm (ish) – Fourty|Eighty, dinner, wife, prep for following day (meals, gym bag)
10:00pm to 10:30pm – Sleep

Quotes:
“When you feel like quitting, remember why you started”

“There is no way around hard work”

“Definition through experience”

“Make perfection a habit”